Member of the Year Finalists Announced

The Mark Johnson AAF Dallas Member of the Year Award is awarded every year to a AAF Dallas member that exhibits the greatest commitment to the industry and the AAF Dallas through committee involvement, by their time and resources invested, and in their positive impact on the organization. Recipients must have demonstrated those qualities through their commitment to AAF Dallas, by their professional experiences, by their acts of integrity, and investment in other community activities.

Established in 2005, the AAF Dallas Member of the Year is named in honor of Mark Johnson, deceased past president, 1997-1998, and is sponsored by The Wall Street Journal where Mark worked for many years. Full award details here. The winner of the 2015 Award will be announced at the August 11th luncheon.

The 2015 finalists for the Mark Johnson AAF Dallas Member of the Year Award are:


Larry Brantley

AAF Dallas President, 2013-2014 and 2014-2015
Head of Talent Acquisition, The Company of Others


Larry has served two terms as the President of AAF Dallas and continues to sit on the executive board of directors. He has been a member and sponsor of various AAF local and district events for more than two decades. He has 32 years of experience in the Communications/Advertising field. He started as a creative package designer early in his career at Frito-Lay and has been involved in national recruiting and placement of mid to senior level candidates all across the country for the majority of his employment history.

Larry has been interviewed as a staffing expert by The Wall Street Journal, The Dallas Morning News, The Houston Chronicle, Promo magazine, Communication Arts magazine, Dallas Men magazine, The Dallas Business Journal and The Houston Business Journal. He is an award-winning designer through IABC (International Association of Business Communicators) and has also served as a mentor through student development programs.

Larry lives in the Plano with his family. He has a BFA in Graphic Design from Louisiana Tech University.


Carrie Miller

Education Chair and, District 10 Convention Co-Chair
Marketing Communications Manager, University of Texas at Dallas


Carrie Miller has been involved in two AAF boards in Corpus Christi, Texas and Dallas respectively. With more than 20 years in the advertising, marketing and communications field, Miller joined AAF Dallas in 2014 after her relocation in January and was quickly asked to sit on the board as the Education Chair. “It’s been a great opportunity for me to get to know the advertising and higher education communities, make important connections and friends as I settled into my new home,” said Miller. Miller and co-chair, Jaime Vasquez, took on the 2015 District 10 Conference and Convention and jumped in feet first to help make the three-day event a success.

Now into year two, Miller has accepted a new board member position as the Marketing and Communications chair, and she is eager to tackle her new role. Miller holds a BA in art and an MA in communication and currently works at The University of Texas at Dallas as marketing and communications manager. She attributes much of her good fortune to the connections she was able to make through the AAF Dallas community. Miller and her husband, Jan, live in Lake & Garden District with their two dogs, Alexis and The Stig.


Jaime Vazquez

Diversity Chair, District 10 Convention Co-Chair
Account Executive, SocialCentiv


Jaime has served on the AAF Dallas Board for 1.5 years after his relocation from Chicago. After starting his career in Dallas prior to his move to Chicago, Jaime was eager to get more involved in the advertising industry upon his return his native city. Being of Puerto Rican decent and with a passion for issues of diversity, he quickly decided to join the board as the Diversity Chair. A 13 year veteran and overall badass in marketing and sales, Jaime’s career has covered a vast array of disciplines including experiential, promotions, sponsorship, social media and technology working with clients such as State Farm, AT&T, Pernod Ricard, Crown Imports, Frito-Lay, the U.S. Air Force, USA Networks, ZTE and Wrangler for general market and multicultural audiences.

Jaime joined forces with Carrie Miller to Co-Chair the 2015 District 10 Conference and Convention to make the three-day event a success and do the city of Dallas proud. He’s excited to continue his role on the board as Diversity Chair to bring new ideas and initiatives to the club.

Jaime and his wife, Amy, live in North Oak Cliff with their 2 year-old son, Cruz, their one dog and two cats. He holds a BA and Masters from Texas A&M University.

The Mark Johnson Memorial Member of the Year Award is sponsored by

Join Today!

AAF Dallas is the oldest civic organization in Dallas and for more than 100 years has been representing all facets of the advertising industry. AAF Dallas brings together the best talent in advertising, marketing, media and education.

Latest Tweets

Join Our Mailing List